Draft Audio Story

The audio assignment has been the most stressful for me so far. In the end, I had imagined it to be more of a problem for me than it actually was and placed myself under an unnecessary time crunch.

The main area I was avoiding is that my voice has never recorded well, sounding much softer than it does in person. I have to consciously lower my pitch in order to sound clear. However, that clarity is mitigated because I have a difficult time not running words together when talking on a script. I also have a difficult time pronouncing words that I can normally say without a problem. (On my recording it is noticeable that I have a hard time with “visualization”.)

The best solution would have been to record someone else reading my script, but I mistakenly avoided the assignment until that was not an option.

My original idea was to do an interview story in which I presented the imaginary company Mindfully Practical as a new enterprise. I had a difficult time scripting the interview, so at the last minute I changed it to be an interview of someone from the company’s target market, to be used in a presentation to show investors that there is a demand for Mindfully Practical. A friend of mine played the role of a local business owner and I was the interviewer. I love my friend, but with both of our speaking difficulties this did not sound much like a real interview. My final decision was to do a single-person podcast that Mindfully Practical would share with their clients/customers. This meant that I had to record myself.

I chose a format that I have heard on other podcasts and You-Tube channels in which a list is presented. My idea was that this would provide a natural way to incorporate background music as I transition between each numbered item. It has a beginning introduction, middle technique list, and very quick ending comment as I was running out of time.

I used the Smart Recorder app on my cell phone to record a continuous piece of me reciting the entire podcast script. I then used the Razor tool to cut out some unnatural pauses and filler words. Sometimes the recording sounds as though I cut the segment too early but it is actually the odd way in which I ended the sentence (such as when I say “chin up”).

For the background music, I found free music licensed under a creative commons license on the website freemusicarchive.org. I chose to use “There Is Always A Reason” by artist Borrtex.

On a second track in my multi-track file, I used the razor tool to cut a piece of music which I made louder for an introduction and transition piece between the numbers. I used a fade in and out on these segments. Then I added a third track in which I placed the remaining segments of the music to start and end with my talking. I reduced the volume to negative 22 so that it would not drown out my voice.

Lastly, I was happy to discover that I could select the recording type as “Dialogue” on the clips of my talking and then select Enhance Voice: Female. This greatly improved the problem of my voice recording too softly and made the recording much clearer.

Overall, I think that my draft turned out pretty good considering how nervous I was for it.

4 thoughts on “Draft Audio Story

Add yours

  1. I completely understand your stress on this assignment! I a much more visual person, so this was something very new for me as well. Overall, I think you did a great job telling your story. After reading through your original ideas on an interview, I really like the direction you went in. For your topic to be focused on your imaginary company, Mindfully Practical, I think this audio does a good job giving tips on how to relax and deal with stress. I listen to quite a few meditation podcasts and apps, and I will say you followed the format very well. I would recommend adjusting the fade in / out a bit. This will create a smoother transition from step to step. I also think lowering the volume on the music while you are talking would be beneficial. That could help you from feeling like your voice is drowned out and hard to hear. I appreciate you including your editing steps in your post. I definitely want to play around with the ‘Dialogue’ recording type. Good work! Looking forward to hearing your final story!

    Like

  2. I think you did a great job. Your voice actually sounds quite soothing and I found it all to tie into your blog very well. I like the introduction a lot and the implementation of the music for transitions but I noticed that music seems to start and stop a little abruptly. I think working on the fade and the volume of the music could help smooth that out. I also noticed in the second technique, focusing on posture, that there’s a lot of information. While I think It’s good to know it all I think that it seems a little rushed since there’s a lot of information. Overall, I think you did a great job!

    Like

  3. Hey Erica,

    Before I even knew what your audio was about I thought to myself, “wow her voice is soothing”, it automatically put me at ease. So it was delightful to know that it was about relieving stress. I love little bits of information that when utilized make a world of difference so off the back I was eager to know what these tips were. The music in the background was a great touch. The brief interlude of music between each tip was a great touch as it let me know when the next tip was coming. It felt as if I was waiting for the next chapter in an audio book! It was very well composed. I wouldn’t do anything besides perhaps speak a little faster but that’s being critical, the entire thing sounded amazing. Your music is what really made it for me, again it immediately put me at ease and I can’t wait to use your tip and hear it when it’s finished!

    Like

  4. My classmates gave me a lot of great suggestions that I really appreciate! I will take their advice and work on softening the fade-in and out of the background music for a smoother transition. In addition I will see if I can increase the volume of my voice a bit and/or decrease the volume of the music while I am talking even more. I also will work on making each technique segment approximately even in length so that they are more balanced. Lastly, I will re-record my saying “visualization” and see if I can get that to sound a little less odd. It’s a hard word to get out when you are tongue-tied but it might be easier if I am only recording that word instead of an entire script. Overall I am happy with my draft and think that it is a good starting point. I’m most excited to learn that there are ways to make a recording of my voice sound better!

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started